Post or Read Posts below
I have been drinking regularly since the age of 17 and doing drugs since I was 20. I walked into a rehabilitation program on June 21, 2007, at the age of 36. It is a blessing, and I am grateful that in 2023 I celebrated 16 years of continuos Recovery. I am happy to answer questions, offer suggestions, or listen.
A couple of years back, a loved one close to my heart developed an opioid addiction. This was by far the most daunting, mentally, and physically exhausting experience I ever had to encounter. This individual was manic and refused to seek help for years, being a danger to themselves and anyone around them. Fortunately, after years of struggling and many failed rehab attempts, this so-called loved one was able to get sober and I could not be more thankful. I was personally 17 when I experienced the trauma involved with caring for someone in this state of mind, so I understand how important it is to be heard when someone you love is addicted. It's hard and at times can make you feel helpless. Would love to be there for anyone going through the same hardship.
I care(d) a total of 1 year for a male
Working to help agencies helping those with addiction market their services to those in need.
former addict looking to connect with others going through the same journey
I'd be happy to chat and offer support where I can.
I care(d) a total of 8 years for a malefemalenon-binary
I care(d) a total of 8 years for a malefemale
I have some experience in this subject I can share
I care(d) a total of 15 years for a male
I care(d) a total of 30 years for a malefemale
I cared for a significant other who was addicted to recreational drugs and alcohol. I experienced co-dependency and can share experiences related to self-care and safety while also providing care for someone coping with addiction. I have found that a harm-reduction mentality and "meeting a person where they are at" approach, with minimal judgement, has been the most effective way in helping them find the strength to make a positive change in their own lives.
I care(d) a total of 4 years for a male